To content

ITMC employees honored!

  • Top-News
The picture shows the awarding of the teaching prize by the Vice-Rector of Studies, Professor Dr. Wiebke Möhring, as part of the 2023 academic year celebration. © Roland Baege ​/​ TU Dortmund

As part of the Academic Anniversary Celebration 2023, ITMC colleagues Andrea Martin, Volker Mattick and Markus Alex were presented with the TU Dortmund University Teaching Award by Vice President Academic Affairs, Professor Dr. Wiebke Möhring.

Together with university didactics experts Dr. Kathrin Stolz and Dr. Stephanie Steden, they were awarded in category IV "Teaching support from technical and administrative staff" for their commitment, especially during the corona pandemic.

To support students and lecturers in the digitalization of teaching, initially for the digital summer semester 2020, the award winners collected and prepared information at short notice and made it available on the Digital Teaching Portal and in corresponding Moodle courses. In addition, they were personally available for questions and advice in daily video consultation hours. Existing offerings such as workshops, consultations and digital lunches were also transferred to digital formats. They skillfully combined technical and didactic design approaches.

Particularly noteworthy are Moodle courses as central repositories for information, instructions and best practice examples. One course supported students during this challenging time, while others were aimed at teaching staff and attracted over 2,000 participants in a short space of time.

In both formats, a forum for peer-to-peer exchange was also offered and professionally supported by the award winners.

Counseling formats for digital exams were set up and supervised based on this model. This became necessary at the latest when face-to-face examinations could no longer be held in the Westfalenhallen.

On behalf of the award winners, Markus Alex thanked the Association of Friends of TU Dortmund University, which sponsors the award, and the selection committee. He also emphasized the support of many colleagues, especially in the other ITMC teams, without whom the digital teaching and learning offers would not be possible in the first place.

We are delighted by this award and congratulate the winners!